Ariellalphabet · Gaming · Geek

30 Days of Gaming, Day One: Very First Video Game

You may remember the other year when I started (and ultimately failed) to do a 30 Days of Gaming challenge that I’d seen on Geek and Gamer Girls on Facebook. Last time I did it in a bit of a stupid format, with each entry as a mere add-on for my other posts, but this time I’m doing it properly. I’m going to actually commit and get a bunch of awesome posts out like I did with the 30 Days of Comics posts I did last year. Expect lots of nostalgia, some ranting and of course, lots of gaming…

Day One: Very First Video Game  1

As I’ve explained on my intro to gaming post I did with HeartGamingg a few months ago, I’ve been playing video games for a very long time. As long as I can remember. If it wasn’t books, it was video games. While 1998 brought the release of the Game Boy Colour and got me sucked into the world of Pokémon, it wasn’t my first game, but it was one of the first I played obsessively. I remember playing Final Fantasy VII with my Dad when I was just a wee nipper, and one of the first games I ever owned (or that was bought for me) was the pink-tastic Barbie Race and Ride for the Play Station One. Again, I wouldn’t call it my ‘very first game’ because I’d been playing for a few years prior to that. There isn’t one specific game that I can pinpoint as my very first, but more like a selection.

Crash Bandicoot. Spyro the Dragon. Tekken 3. Croc: Legend of the Gobbos. Final Fantasy VIII. Soul Blade. Doom. Tomb Raider. Tony Hawks Pro Skater. Pokémon Blue. If I wasn’t playing any of those games, you can bet I was watching either my Dad or best friend Robin play them. It’s strange that out of the games listed, I still play (or plan to!) play most of them, and I’m often nostalgic about early platformers. I’ve considered scouring eBay on the hunt for an old Play Station One and maybe some old games, but the price tag puts me off somewhat. I loved all these old games, and the nostalgia factor for either replaying them as a (somewhat) grown-up is immeasurable.

As a bonus for today, here’s a YouTube video which contains the official Spyro the Dragon soundtrack, including the Play Station One start-up music! So. Much. Nostalgia.

Join me again tomorrow as I continue the 30 Days of Gaming Challenge!

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Gaming, Day One: Very First Video Game

  1. My first game ever? Must have been 1989/1990, the original Mario Brothers with Duck Hunt bundled onto the same cartridge. Ah the memories…and that blasted dog laughing at me every time I missed a shot.

Thoughts?

