Ariellalphabet · Gaming · Geek

30 Days of Gaming, Day Two: Your Favourite Character

Day Two: Your Favourite Character

lara-croft-tomb-raider-anniversary3

I have spent more time deliberating over this than I probably should have done, but I honestly can’t make my mind up. I play a lot of games, and have a lot of favourite characters. However, the games I’ve been playing recently have been centred on make-your-own-character creation and it’d be a bit cheeky to pick that as an option!  So instead, I’ll look back to my childhood, and pick the character that was my role model, my all-time favourite (even aside from platformers and beat-em-ups!) and a character whose games I loved. She made me want to be clever and funny. She made me want to be adventurous. She made me want to be an archaeologist, and travel the world.

Of course, I’m talking about Lara Croft, the badass action-woman heroine of the Tomb Raider franchise. Not only does she have a huge stately mansion, but she also raids tombs, steals treasure, fights dinosaurs and shoots up bad guys. I loved her in the early games, as it showed a very young me that women could be just as awesome as dudes in video games, and through the years and the many, many games that have followed, she’s stayed the same, awesome character. She was my favourite video game character when I was a kid, and if I played the newer games now, I’d probably love her all over again.

We won’t talk about the Angelina Jolie films though.

One thought on “30 Days of Gaming, Day Two: Your Favourite Character

Thoughts?

