Ariellalphabet · Gaming · Geek

30 Days of Gaming, Day Twenty Three: Game You Thought Had the Best Graphics Or Art Style

Day Twenty Two: Game You Thought Had the Best Graphics or Art Style

Contrast-4-640x360

I haven’t been impressed by the graphics in a video game for a very, very long time. When I was younger, every new RPG used to wow me, and that was pretty much the extent of it. That said, the opening to Tekken Tag Tournament still continues to impress me, despite its age. The opening credit sequence still stands up for me despite its age, and I still find Nina applying her lipstick to look pretty darn good.

However, like I said, I haven’t been impressed with game graphics in a while. Everything seems to be going for the hyper-real style at the minute, with the occasional title diverging from this (the pixel-based games coming from independent game creators spring to mind) and rarely does the art style differ much.

For me, this is where Contrast steps in. I haven’t actually bought this game myself, nor have I played it for any particularly long period of time. I went to a PS4 lock-in event at my local game store back before the PS4 came out, and after reading a succession of blogs talking about how good the game was, I decided to play through the demo. I was hugely impressed! I loved the puzzle dynamic of it, but above all else, I loved the art style and graphics. It just screamed steampunk/European beauty to me. It’s a gorgeous, noir-art influenced animation style is mostly what stayed with me after playing the game, and I definitely plan on buying it in the future so I can enjoy it all over again.

 

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Gaming, Day Twenty Three: Game You Thought Had the Best Graphics Or Art Style

  1. Yay! I also really need to sit down and play Contrast, which is especially bad since I know the guys who made it.

Thoughts?

