100 Days of Being Geek Chic and Healthy · Geek

100 Days of Geek Chic and Healthy, Day 2: Task Hammer Review

So, I’m kicking off the Geek Chic & Healthy challenge with a review of one of my favourite apps. To explain briefly, I’m super scatterbrained. I have used lists to help me organise everything in my life (there was a time in my life I’d make weekly to-do lists which would often consist of 40+ items) since I was a young teenager. I find that making lists of chores helps to keep me focussed on things and usually helps, and that’s where Task Hammer comes in.

Home screen
Home screen

Task Hammer is a free app for Android phones (sadly it’s not available on iOS) and is an RPG organisation game/application. That sounds like a mouthful, but it’s incredibly simple. You make yourself a character (you can be an Unknown Stranger, Barbarian, Rogue or Sorceress) and get started. You input tasks you need to do (wash the pots, walk the dog, go the gym etc) and designate their importance (this governs how much EXP your character gets to level up, and is low, medium, high, or highest), their attribute (you can choose from strength, vitality, intelligence, perserverence and charisma, which makes me think of Dungeons and Dragons SO much!) when it needs to be done (you can pick any date between now and forever) and finally, you can add any notes, with no character limit.

My task list. When you've done each task, you check it off to gain EXP.
My task list. When you’ve done each task, you check it off to gain EXP.

Aaaand that’s basically it. It’s an organisational app which lets you roleplay as someone from a video game. The EXP you get from completing each task makes your character level up, which while giving you nothing in the material or digital plane, gives you a damn good sense of satisfaction and accomplishment. Sure, there are ways to cheat the app (creating a task to make a cup of tea and designating it highest to get a big burst of EXP) but I found myself barely doing it.

I’ve been using the app since about March and I’ve had absolutely zero problems with it. Every morning, I open it up, input the tasks I want to get done, and it helps me keep track. It’s never crashed on me, and it has minimal settings, so there’s practically no hassle. The only niggle I have with it is the character editing. All the other roles are guys looking badass and the sorceress is a busty gal giving come-hither eyes- it’s not really a fair selection. It took me a while to completely understand the task designations, but there’s an FAQ included within the app to help explain things a bit, but it’s still fairly vague.

While there are other apps like this on the market, this is definitely one of the easiest to use, and is super helpful.

For more posts in the 100 Days of Geek Chic and Healthy, check out this site: http://nerdy-birdieblog.blogspot.co.uk/

One thought on “100 Days of Geek Chic and Healthy, Day 2: Task Hammer Review

Thoughts?

