Confessions of a World of Warcraft Noob · Gaming · Geek

Confessions of a World of Warcraft Noob #2

Welcome to part two of my Confessions of a World of Warcraft Noob blog series! I’m a little late (almost a week!) in posting this, but in that time, a lot has happened to my Blood Elf Warrior Wém in Azeroth.

2014-10-19 15.34.01

Interestingly enough, I’ve been questing on my own this last week. While the Boyfriend Wonder Iain, Daryl, and our other friend Joe have boosted me through some dungeons and helped me rack up the levels, I didn’t get much chance to play on my own, and learn much for playing solo. This week, that has changed, as once I hit level 71, Iain took me over to Northrend and left me to fend for myself.

An enemy in the Stratholme dungeon
An enemy in the Stratholme dungeon

As it was the first time playing on my own, I didn’t have the luxury of a healer to heal me up if my health dipped, and I didn’t have an epic tank to take hits for me either. While I was running, flying and fighting my way through the Tundras and dealing with Garrosh Hellscream’s war command, Daryl, Iain and Joe were levelling their own characters through dungeons, and making the most of the recruit-a-friend perk, which offers 300%+ EXP. For new players, it’s a really easy way to gain EXP quickly and gain a lot of levels, especially in big dungeons. It took me a while to get used to playing on my own, and I had to keep a careful eye on my health as much as I could! Luckily, I only died a few times, and was able to pick myself back up pretty quickly.

Standing at the gates of Orgrimmar
Standing at the gates of Orgrimmar

I spent a lot of time in the Northrend. I flew from corner to corner, doing quests and killing monsters for every person I came across. I really enjoyed questing like that, as it allowed me to always have something on the go. As soon as I completed one quest and handed it in, I already had another three I could get started with, and I managed to build up a lot of experience and get some decent (ish) gear for myself that actually looked pretty good too! I absolutely loved the look of Northrend. Even though my laptop can’t run it on especially good graphics, it still looked absolutely gorgeous, and when I reached The Nexus I was in awe. Everything was so pretty, and the colours looked fantastic.

Flying around the Amber Ledge
Flying around the Amber Ledge

Screenshot 2014-10-20 17.24.22

The Nexus! So pretty, even on low graphics
The Nexus! So pretty, even on low graphics

I took a few days off to work on some of my university work, but then I jumped back on as soon I could! Daryl, Iain and Joe ran me through a few more dungeons, and before I knew it, I was level 75 and the enemies in Northrend didn’t challenge me anymore, and thus it was time to leave. Iain recommended I fly over to Dragonblight and start questing there. I flew over (carefully avoiding the PvP area) and made a start, killing off a few enemies here and there. Again, I was in awe of the look and aesthetic of the place, and set off doing as many quests as I could gather and hand in! I eventually made my way to Naxxramas and took out the necromancers, and after flying around for a bit, killing the odd skeleton, I realised the enemies here were too easy. So, after some talk with Iain and his ridiculous encyclopaedic knowledge of WoW, he loaded in his level 80 character and we headed off to Mount Hyjal.

Screenshot 2014-10-21 01.24.28

Screenshot 2014-10-28 22.38.04

 

That’s when I saw the biggest dragon in a game I have ever, ever seen. The route that I got taken on when I flew took me via Deathwing, and my reaction was “holy shit that’s a big dragon I hope I don’t have to fight him!” then Iain informed me that yes, you have to fight him on a raid, and I died inside a little bit. Deathwing aside, Iain and I quested around Mount Hyjal for a while, killing slightly smaller dragons and harpies, and I enjoyed flying around the place. I’ve come to realise that WoW is probably one of the most expansive and beautiful games I’ve played. Every area looks different, and has a different type of monster, and the music for it is superb. I could honestly listen to WoW music all day, every day.

My last quest completed; Kill Sethria
My last quest completed; Kill Sethria

Aside from my usual questing in large areas, I ended up teleporting to Dalaran and running around there for a while. I watched the Lich King cinematic, and then rendezvoused with Iain, who took me through a few more dungeons and helped me get some better gear.

Dalaran
Dalaran
Iain (Cipheon) and I in Dalaran. The seasonal pumpkin heads never fail to make me laugh!
Iain (Cipheon) and I in Dalaran. The seasonal pumpkin heads never fail to make me laugh!

As of now, I’m level 82, and still questing on Mount Hyjal. I play on the Chamber of Aspects server, and if you’d like my Battlenet ID so you can add me, just drop me a line in the comment section below!

Thoughts?

