5 Fandom Friday

5 Fandom Friday- Five Comfort Foods!

Screen-Shot-2014-09-25-at-7.48.24-AM

It’s no big secret that I’m a bit of a homebody. Most weekends you’ll find me bundled up at home in my PJs either playing video games, watching TV shows or marathoning films. If I’m not doing that, I’m visiting family or staying at my best friend Gina’s, where we basically do that anyway. One of the most important things about being a homebody is having the right snacks and the right comfort food. Many times the Boyfriend Wonder and I have planned a weekend around playing games or marathoning TV shows (our current obsession is Bones!) and then made a trip to our local supermarket to stock up on yummy foods and snacks, with the occasional call to our favourite takeaway.

Without further ado, here are some of my favourite snack foods!

1.) Chocolate M&Ms

Plain-M&Ms-Pile

I love chocolate M & Ms. If I’ve had a rough day, or I just want to treat myself, I’ll buy a share pack, throw them in the fridge for a few hours, then eat them when they’re sufficiently chilled. I’ve loved M&Ms for years, and still mourn the loss of the crispy centred ones. They were so good! One of the best things about M&Ms is that they’re available everywhere, and I never have to go far out of my way to pick some up.

2.) Cookies

2014-01-31 12.35.38

Hey, there’s a reason my blog is called Comics and Cookies! It probably comes as no big surprise that I love cookies. In my university cafeteria, they bake fresh ones every day in a variety of flavours (including double chocolate chip and white chocolate and raspberry) and if you go in at the right time, they’re fresh out the oven and the chocolate is all melty. So yummy!

3.) Chicken Zinger Wraps

This isn't quite what mine looks like, but it's the closest I could get!
This isn’t quite what mine looks like, but it’s the closest I could get!

I know it doesn’t sound particularly appealing, but one of my favourite takeaways in town does THE BEST chicken wraps in existence. Chicken cooked in a slightly spicy sauce, mayonnaise, lettuce and wrapped in a still warm tortilla wrap with a side of order of fries and 7Up. Delicious! It’s my go-to order every time we get takeout.

4.) Pizza

pizza

Pizza is the best thing in the world. You can put anything on it, and it doesn’t detract away from its taste and the warm feeling you get when you eat it. My personal favourite is margherita (which I’m told by many people is ‘boring’) but you can’t go wrong with a classic!

5.) Cupcakes

bannerImage4

Cupcakes are magical, wonderful items. Sweet, filling, and totally cute! When I used to go college, there was a really great cupcake stall on my way to the bus station that made amazing flavoured ones. Usually by the time I’d finished class at the end of the day, they were cutting prices ready to close, so I’d get yummy cakey goodness at half price! Some of my favourites from that sadly now closed store included Vimto and Daim. I’m still yet to find a good local cupcake place!

So what are your favourite snacks and comfort foods? Let me know in the comment section below!

7 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday- Five Comfort Foods!

  1. If I had a bag of chocolate m&ms beside me I wouldn’t stop eating until the bad was empty – they are so more-ish! Never tried them chilled though, so I’ll try that next time. I had some crispy ones the other month, they were so good! I normally go for the margherita too, can’t beat a classic.

    http://www.northeastnerd.co.uk

  2. “Most weekends you’ll find me bundled up at home in my PJs either playing video games, watching TV shows or marathoning films.” –> ME

    Then you put pics of M&Ms and cookies. –>ME And are names both have to do with Ari*. –> US

    YOU ARE MY TWIN! =D

Thoughts?

