5 Fandom Friday

Five Fandom Friday Catch Up: Five of My Most Played Songs

11

I’ve reached the December prompts, and as they’re all seasonal, or Christmas-based, so I’m gonna tweak them a little bit. So, instead of 5 favourite Christmas songs, it’s gonna be 5 most played songs. After all, who wants to think about Christmas in January?

 

1.) Shia LeBeouf by Rob Cantor

I’ve followed Shia LeBeouf’s… adventures over the last few months. His bonkers art installation. Yelling and getting himself thrown out of a Broadway show. Wearing a paper bag over his head with the words “I’m not famous any more” emblazoned across it. Sure, he’s becoming eccentric. But, he was a child star, and very few of those make it out alive and sane, which is where Rob Cantor, the Gay Men’s Chorus of Los Angeles, The West L.A. Children’s Choir, and the Argus Quartet come in. This song is so unbelievably catchy, and the performance of this song is downright incredible. I will bet you any money you’ll find yourself singing “Actual cannibal, Shia LeBeouf” tomorrow. Cantor does a lot of great things with music and his songwriting, and Shia LeBeouf has finally got him some coverage. I like to think that Shia himself likes it as well.

2.) Do I Wanna Know? By the Arctic Monkeys

How could I live in Sheffield and not be a fan of the Arctic Monkeys?! I’ve been following them on and off for a while, and I really enjoyed Whatever You Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not, when it came out way back when, but I lost touch for quite a while. Then AM happened. AM is such a fab album, and even though Alex Turner is starting to be a bit of a dick these days (is he trying to be Elvis? Is he trying to be a biker? Who knows with that hairstyle) it’s hard to deny that Do I Wanna Know? and the rest of the songs on AM are golden. Those handclaps and foot stomps. That vicious electric guitar. Those slurred, dirty vocals. Perfection.

3.) Young Volcanoes by Fall Out Boy

I went over my eternal love for Fall Out Boy in my last Five Fandom Friday post, and it is more than relevant here. Fall Out Boy’s sound has changed a lot in the years that they’ve been going, and their newest incarnation has presented as more pop-rock feel, but still with the emo lyrics. There’s hints of electronica in there, and they’re definitely more pop-rock than pop-punk like they used to be. I mean, just compare Dead On Arrival from Take This to Your Grave to Centuries, from American Beauty/ American Psycho. Anyway, the reason I love Young Volcanoes is it reminds me of summer. It’s a feel good, happy song, and the acoustic guitar, accompanied by handclaps and the occasional drum beats makes me wanna dance and sing and be cheery, and it makes me long for summer days. I don’t even like summer all that much!

4.) Summertime Sadness Remix by Lana Del Rey and Cedric Gervais

I have an ongoing love for Lana Del Rey and her music. It’s soulful, mournful, and beautiful. That said, a lot of her stuff is on the slow side, which puts a lot of people off. This remix fixes that problem, by giving it a dance-y beat and making her vocals feel even more ethereal than they already are. If I was out at a club one night (god forbid) you would have to fight me to get me off the dancefloor. I got that summertime, summertime sadness.

5.) Bubblegum Bitch by Marina and the Diamonds

Taken from Marina and the Diamonds’ second album, Electra Heart, which was a pretty snappy concept album. I love this song. It’s so catchy and poppy, but with hugely venomous undertones. Electra Heart was part concept album, part feminist backlash against pop music, and part incredible pop album. It had this undeniable sugar-pink aesthetic which hid dark, dark undertones, and it’s pretty fab, and also why I love this song.

Honourable mentions- 5 Most listened to albums:

All the Little Lights by Passenger

A Guide to Love, Loss and Desperation by The Wombats

All This Bad Blood by Bastille

Pure Heroine by Lorde

1989 by Taylor Swift (Not a link to the album on YouTube, but one of my favourite songs off this album, Style)

What are some of your most-played songs?

 

6 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday Catch Up: Five of My Most Played Songs

  1. What great taste in music you have! The Wombats’ first album was amazing, wasn’t it? And whatever people say I am, that’s what I’m not, wow did I play that album for days and days. I also love Favourite Worst Nightmare, especially the song Fluorescent Adolescent!

Thoughts?

