5 Fandom Friday

Five Fandom Friday Catch Up: Five Favourite Things About Winter

11

I love winter! It’s one of my favourite times of the year. Also, I don’t do well in summer. Not at all. I have super pale skin so I burn almost instantly, and the constant heat just tires me out and drains me. Ugh!

461236020_1367007381

1.) Watching the weather from inside

I love the snow- but mostly when I’m not out in it. If I’m sitting inside, or at work, and I get to watch the big, fluffy flakes drifting down from the sky, it’s the most relaxing thing. I love the silence that snow brings; it deadens all the sound outside, and makes everything extremely peaceful. I have the same love for rain; the sound of it battering my windows instantly makes me sleepy, and it’s all the better if there’s a thunderstorm! I also love all the photo opportunities that snow brings, and I love seeing pictures of snowmen, or just snowy , picturesque gardens. Also, there’s nothing better than snuggling indoors with the person you love <3

loungewear

2.) Cosy clothes and loungewear

I am all about loungewear. Last weekend I treated myself to a new dressing gown, slipper booties and PJs, all in the name of being cosy. The best thing about winter is that it’s socially acceptable to stay indoors, snuggled up in your PJs (blanket-cloak optional) and shelter away from the weather. At this time of year, all the shops get themed loungewear in, or super fluffy stuff. If you hit up the shops in the sales, you can get it for about half-price, which makes it even better! You may have seen my selfie on Instagram with my new bear-ear dressing gown. It’s the warmest, thing ever!

Christmas recycling

3.) The holidays

Of course! Who wouldn’t list Christmas and New Year’s as their reasons for loving the season? I love Christmas because I get to go back and see my family, and generally just bum about for a few days. No work to do and I can unwind. The food is always great (and I don’t have to make it myself or pay for it!) and the general spirit is contagious. Everyone is happy, and I can’t remember a time when I felt more relaxed this Christmas than when I was staying at my Grandma’s. The Christmas tree was up, lights were on, fire was on, and I was sat in a comfy armchair reading a book. Perfect!

wiz

4.) Films on TV

Oh boy. Christmas/New Year is the BEST time of year for films on TV. On Sky there’s a channel dedicated entirely to Christmas films, starting in about November. If you’re into Christmas films, it’s great! What I love is all the Disney and animated films that get shown. While I was home this Christmas, I managed to catch Wall-E, 101 Dalmatians, Puss in Boots, as well as the Wizard of Oz (which is a classic, and one of my childhood favourites) and a few Indiana Jones films. At Christmas, it’s super easy to just put the TV on one channel and watch all the films that come on, and there’s a rarely a stinker among the lot.

download

5.) Gift giving

Not just getting gifts, but giving them out. There’s nothing better than seeing someone’s face light up when they open a gift they really love. I try really hard to get people good gifts (but I slack with my wrapping!) and usually, I succeed! My key to success is paying really close attention to what people say they want at this time of the year. Sure, I like getting gifts myself, but who doesn’t?

What are your favourite things about winter?

Thoughts?

