5 Fandom Friday

Five Fandom Friday Catch Up: Five Gateway Fandoms that Made Me Who I Am Today

11

It’s no big secret that I have always, always been a big nerd. I grew up playing video games, reading pretty much anything I could get my hands on, and playing Scrabble with my Dad and anyone who came to see us. These have all been formative experiences for me, and I could not be prouder of my upbringing.

So, without further ado, here are some of my gateway fandoms!

8uk-children-thomas-taylor

1.) Harry Potter

I don’t remember exactly when I first read Harry Potter. I vaguely remember being quite late to the game, and (impatiently) waiting for Order of the Phoenix to be released, but I’d never known of them prior to that. I’ve read Philosopher’s Stone more than 10 times, and Prisoner of Azkaban (my favourite of the first four books) probably a lot more. When the films were announced, I was ecstatic! I (and my friends) had Harry Potter everything. All the books, lego sets, clothes (I had some awesome Hermione Granger PJs) toys… The list goes on. My favourite item was a Gryffindor scarf. It was yellow and red striped and was super warm. I wish I knew where it was, as I’d definitely use it now! I loved everything Harry Potter. I used to spend my summers sitting on my back doorstep reading the books and eating sweets. Now, I’m considerably less in love with it, but it’s still got a special place in my heart.

If my housemate and I were let loose in a bookshop with no budget , this is what our living room would look like.
If my housemate and I were let loose in a bookshop with no budget , this is what our living room would look like.

2.) Reading

Harry Potter is an extension of my love of reading. As long as I’ve known, I’ve always been a voracious reader. Anything with words on, I’d pick it up and read it. My second home was the library, and I remember my Dad taking me to get a library card, and then filling up a backpack with books and taking them home. I’d read in class ALL THE TIME (especially Maths class) and basically any spare time I got. I read a huge variety of stuff (some I probably shouldn’t have at such a young age!) but my love of books has stayed with me. When I used to go to college, a two-hour minimum round trip on the bus, I’d always take a book with me, or buy one from a bookshop. I’d usually manage about three books finished a week, if I didn’t sleep in the mornings. I travel less now, but I still make time to read- usually in the bath!

video-games

3.) Video games

Ahh, video games. They’ve been a part of my life basically forever. I started off with Spyro the Dragon, Crash Bandicoot and Tekken, and have now worked my way up to Diablo 3: Reaper of Souls and Halo. One of my main childhood loves was Pokémon. I had Pokémon everything! Soft toys were my favourite though. I used to have Pikachu and Eevee soft toys which I loved. Pikachu is lost to time (or maybe my attic now) but I still have my Eevee. She sits on my bookshelf. As well as Pokémon, there was also my Final Fantasy obsession. I played the heck out of 8 (but sadly never finished it!) watched my Dad play most of 7, and tried to collect as many of the games as I could. The games have changed a lot now, and I haven’t played them since 12, but they’re still dear to me.

8dda5e1b

4.) Music

As I mentioned in my Five Favourite Songs post, music has always been a big deal to me. Ever since getting my own little CD player at a young age, music has been a big part of my life. I feel lost without my phone and headphones if I go out. I rotate the albums on my phone based on what’s come out, and I love finding out about new bands on The Nerdy Girlie’s Monday Music posts. I’ve been a Katy Perry fan since about 14/15 along with my best friend Lawrence, and we finally saw her live last year. It was an amazing night for us!

Chi-Chobits-Wallpaper

5.) Manga

I used to have a HUGE collection of manga. If I stacked all my books on top of each other, they were probably taller than me, or at least getting there. I loved manga when I was a kid. While I did read them extremely quickly (I could manage a book in less than an hour sometimes) I still shelled out for them, month after month. While I’m a lot less into manga now, and have only kept hold of a few favourites from my childhood (Bizenghast and The Dreaming, to name two) there are still a lot of series that I love. I loved the magical-girl genre (what’s changed?!) as well as spooky stories. I feel like manga was a segue into liking comics, as I definitely had favourite artists and favourite arcs. Some of my favourite series were: Pita Ten, Chobits, Tokyo Mew Mew, Fushigi Yugi, .hack, and Paradise Kiss.

What were your gateway fandoms?

 

10 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday Catch Up: Five Gateway Fandoms that Made Me Who I Am Today

Thoughts?

