100 Days of Being Geek Chic and Healthy

100 Days of Being Geek Chic & Healthy, Day Three: Book or Movie Life Inspiration!

30fdd225-49a9-4a29-b450-a3b01d18015a

52dbba98-01ce-4b5f-8bd3-d11748fbcc1a

So I’m a tad behind (already, whoops!) but that’s because I got lost in a TV marathon with the boyfriend-wonder last night. We ended up watching Sons of Anarchy and then American Dad for a few hours and I totally forgot to post anything. Whoops!

I find prompts like these super difficult. I’ve had them here and there throughout other blogging challenges I’ve faced, but I’ve never seen my life in a film or a book or a TV show. It’s not something I’ve ever experienced. I come from a single father family, and that’s a family type barely seen on TV or in film. It’s dotted around here and there, but never enough to actually be considered coverage.

As far as films and/or books that have influenced my life, there’s one that stands out for film. Jean-Pierre Jeunet’s Amélie. I watched it about 13, and I remember thinking, “I love the way she lives her life. Being nice and helping people out, while being daydreamy and romantic.” It’s also one of the films that made me fall in love with film as an art form, and it means a lot to me. I used to have a big Amélie poster on my bedroom wall back at my Dad’s, and it was my pride and joy.

amelie

As far as books go… Probably something like Ghost World, or maybe Emitown, by Daniel Clowes and Emi Lenox respectively. One is about old school friends drifting apart in a backwards town facing the inevitability of life; the other is an autobio comic that lays the heart of the creator completely bare. I love autobio comics, mostly because they make you feel a little less alone. I’ve rarely felt deeper connections to comics than when they’ve been autobio comics (I cried reading Ellerbisms, which you should totally check out) because they feel so personal. Bad things don’t happen for character development, bad things happen because that’s how life goes, and sometimes, it helps to be reminded of this.

emitown_vol2_web72

What films or books have inspired your life?

Thoughts?

