100 Days of Being Geek Chic and Healthy

100 Days of Being Geek Chic & Healthy, Day Eight: Dream Home

30fdd225-49a9-4a29-b450-a3b01d18015a

5a0c5810-e903-4b66-a135-e5d59784c3f0

Yay! I’m now up-to-date. This prompt made me giggle as I’m currently house-hunting. The Boyfriend-Wonder and I are currently looking for a place to move into starting May, and it’s given me a lot to think about. I know a lot of the things I’d like in a flat to move into, and here’s a selection. Alas, I am a picky lady.

Because I live in a university city (and two universities, at that) actually getting a place is easier said than done. The prices are vastly inflated due to the student population and the size of the city, so it’s gonna be tricky finding a place Iain and I both like. That said, it’ll be easy enough to find somewhere better than my current house. I’ve never had a worse landlord.

Anyway! Onto my dream home:

1.) A flat.

1261949_f70e1ee4

It sounds odd, but I really want to live in a flat. I’ve always wanted to live high up, where I have a good view over a city. I don’t know why, I just always have! As well as this, there’s less space in flats. While this means I have to downsize on my junk, it means less stuff to clean, and less time spent cleaning! This suits me right to the ground. Cleaning up my current house is a never-ending job, and always ends in me taking the hoover apart, or something otherwise ridiculous.

2.) A bathtub

A clawfoot bath tub! A girl can dream...
A clawfoot bath tub! A girl can dream…

Those of you who know me (and those of you who have had the misfortune of living with me) know I am all about my baths. I take baths that typically last longer than an hour at any given time, and I love them. Baths are perfect places to unwind, or to get away from everything, or to read a good book… Or get lost in a Buzzfeed black hole like I usually do. While I do take showers from time to time, it’s only if I’m in a rush. I just love taking baths, and I’m really hoping my next place has a good one.

3.) An ample sized kitchen

Modern_kitchen_gnangarra

There are so, SO many things I want to cook, or learn how to cook! Chief among them currently is Macaroni Cheese, as it is my favourite meal. I’d like my next place (or even my dream house!) to have an ample sized kitchen. If there’s room enough for me and the Boyfriend-Wonder, then I’m definitely onto a winner. That and plenty of room to plug in various gizmos and watchacallits would be nice! Id’ like to be able to host little dinner parties, or cook for my bestie when she moves to my city.

4.) A garden or balcony

06glass-balcony-big

My reasoning for this is twofold; 1, as somewhere to dry my clothes. 2, to let the summer breeze in! My current house has a garden, but it’s in too much of a state to enjoy it. I’d like to be able to sit in my garden or balcony with a good book, a cup of tea, and just got completely lost in my book, or even simply watch the world go by. Bliss!

5.) Room to decorate

Hello future office ideas...
Hello future office ideas…

This is another odd one- sure, in my current place, I can decorate how I want, but I feel less inclined to. Partially because it’s not just my space, but also because I don’t really like it here. In my new place, I plan on hanging up tons of posters, art commissions and photos! I’ve already enquired with a few artists about frames and the like, and even my new place is decorated in magnolia throughout- I won’t care, as I’ll be covering the walls in literally anything I get the Boyfriend-Wonder to agree with me on.

What does your dream home look like? Let me know in the comments!

Find out more about 100DBGCH over on The Nerdy Birdie.

Thoughts?

