100 Days of Being Geek Chic and Healthy

100 Days of Being Geek Chic & Healthy, Day Nine: DIY Organisation Tips!

30fdd225-49a9-4a29-b450-a3b01d18015a

5a0c5810-e903-4b66-a135-e5d59784c3f0

Today’s prompt is DIY organisational tips! I tell myself that I am a Very Organised Person, but I’m completely wrong. I’m really not. The closest I have to organisation skills is a cupcake folder with my bank statements in, and my graphic novels being organised alphabetically on my bookcase. I’m always on the lookout for new tips, and here are some of my favourites!

1.) Comic nerd? Collect single issues? Create an Excel spreadsheet for that bad boy!

Screenshot 2015-04-08 19.14.56
Click to view larger.

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll know about my dislike for spreadsheets, due to working at my internship. While for the most part, I do hate the damn things, spreadsheets are EXTREMELY handy for any kind of collection. On my old laptop, I had an epic and regularly updated spreadsheet for my comics and graphic novels and it was extremely useful, especially for conventions. Above is a lil teaser of what it used to look like!

As an example, these are the following categories I used: Title, # number, publisher, writer, artist, year, signed by artist, signed by writer, signed by other, bagged, boarded. You can take away or add categories as you see fit, but I found this model to be pretty useful.

2.) Got a lot of necklaces and sick of them getting tangled? Pin them on a corkboard!

Image from Chambray & Curls. Check out her blog for a more in-depth DIY!

This is a tip I got from *somewhere* on the internet the year I moved to Sheffield for uni. I have a fair amount of jewellery, but I have always, always, had a lot of necklaces. I used to have a little jewellery box to store them in, but everything always got tangled. I was browsing the internet one day (probably Buzzfeed, knowing me) and came across this tip.

Get a corkboard (size varies as to how many necklaces you have and want to display, but I recommend 60 x 90cm. Decorate as you choose (I find criss-crossed ribbons look particularly darling!) and pin away! It’s a super easy method, and things don’t get tangled. It’s super easy to grab a necklace in the morning and put it on, and I never have to worry about things getting lost.

3.) Keep things in alphabetical order!

polls_alphabet1_4604_418218_answer_3_xlarge

This is more of a personal niggle of mine, but I absolutely have to have things in alphabetical order. It makes things SO much easier to find. My graphic novels are all in alphabetical order on my bookcase, and it’s so easy to grab what I want and go. The only time my graphic novels aren’t in alphabetical order is if they’re leant out. This is just an easy tip for organising anything! Books, graphic novels, DVDs, video games… It applies all round!

What are some of your best DIY organisational tips?

For more info on the 100DBGCH challenge, check out The Nerdy Birdie.

One thought on “100 Days of Being Geek Chic & Healthy, Day Nine: DIY Organisation Tips!

Thoughts?

