books · Chocolate Book Tag · Reading

The Chocolate Book Tag!

I recently got tagged by Travelling In My Bookcase to do the Chocolate Book Tag! I hadn’t heard of this challenge before taking it on, but it’s super fun. You get prompts for each ‘type’ of chocolate, and you assign books to them. It’s pretty straight forward, but super fun! Once I’ve filled in my prompts, I then nominate five lucky bloggers to answer the prompts.

1.) Dark chocolate: a book that covers a dark subject

Gone_Girl_(Flynn_novel)

Ahh, Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. I read the entire book in two nights, and was a roller-coaster of emotion both nights. It’s a pretty dark book, about a wife who orchestrates her own disappearance to teach her husband a lesson. It covers societal, familial and gender-based expectations of both genders, and follows just what happens during a missing persons case. No party in the book is completely innocent, and that’s what makes it so fascinating to read. The film with Ben Affleck is pretty good, too!

2.) White Chocolate: Your favourite light-hearted/humorous read

Untitled-5

I really struggled with this one, mostly because a lot of the books I read aren’t exactly light-hearted or humorous…. and these goes for a lot of my comics, too! For the most part, a lot of the stuff I read is kinda serious, or there’s some sort of life or death issues in it. Then, the Boyfriend-Wonder reminded me of the only ‘celebrity’ biography I own- Nerd Do Well by Simon Pegg. It’s written in a really fun, colloquial style which just feels like you’re sat down with Pegg, nerding out with him over Star Wars, comic-con and Star Trek. It’s a really great read, and you can pick it up and put it down super easily.

3.) Milk Chocolate: a book with a lot of hype you’re dying to read

81yNb5R70oL

I am all about lady comics, and Amy Poehler is no different! I love love LOVE Parks & Recreation, and I especially love the pure sunshiney optimism of Leslie Knope. I’ve heard from basically everyone that Yes Please is a must-read, and that’s why I’m so psyched to read it!

4.) Chocolate with a Caramel Centre: A book that makes you feel all gooey inside

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

What a fab prompt! For this, I’m going with the book that also made me cry the most- The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. The romance between Hazel and Augustus was absolutely beautiful, and some of the dialogue and descriptions absolutely cut me up. It simultaneously made me sad but it was written in such a beautiful way I couldn’t help but fall in love with all the characters.

5.) Wafer free KitKat: A book that recently surprised you

Steelheart

My housemate had been nagging for months to read some of Brandon Sanderson’s books pretty much forever, but I always held off. My housemate and I have pretty differing views on books, but Steelheart really surprised me. I read it on the train to and from my hometown over a weekend, and was totally floored. It was so well written, and was a great twist on superheroes and superpowers. What exactly is it that holds superheroes back from enslaving humanity? Steelheart looks at this in depth and utilises assumptions about the genre in a superb way. The ending is incredible.

6.) Snickers: A book you are going nuts about

9788466649179

I first picked up Ready Player One two years ago, after reading a review of it on a blog I followed. Vincent gave it a glowing review, and he’s been right about a lot of things, so I picked it up. It combined pretty much everything I loved- video games, puzzles, and every nerdy reference from today, through the 80s and way, way back. I am always recommending this book to other nerds I know, as I just know they’d love the references and use of modern technology, the border of American dystopia that’s so popular, and the best in drama. More people, please read this so I can talk to you about it! Also, I am so freaking excited for the Steven Spielberg film adaptation!

7.) Hot Chocolate with Cream and Marshmallows: a book you would turn to for a comfort read

download

Again, I don’t really have comfort reads… I have books that I read once a year or so because I enjoy them. A lot of my favourite (or at least most read) books tend to be about pretty dark material, so you can’t really call them comfort reads! All that said, American Gods by Neil Gaiman is one of my all time favourites. I read it at least once a year to remind myself of the excitement to be found on the open road, as well as Gaiman’s magical writing. American Gods was the first Gaiman book I ever read, and honestly, I’ve not loved one the same since. I love the descriptions Gaiman uses, as well as the modern day incarnations of all the gods. I’m really praying that the Starz TV show will be good!

I tag the following folks!

The Nerdy Birdie 

You Fancy Me Mad

The Written Word (s)

Readerly Geek

Sparklegirl

My thanks go again to Travelling in My Bookcase! You can read the original post here.

What are your favourite books?

3 thoughts on “The Chocolate Book Tag!

Thoughts?

