100 Days of Being Geek Chic and Healthy

100 Days of Being Geek Chic and Healthy, Day Fourteen: Living a Minimalist Life

30fdd225-49a9-4a29-b450-a3b01d18015a

5a0c5810-e903-4b66-a135-e5d59784c3f0

Today’s prompt is a really good one! As I mentioned right back at the start of this challenge, I’m also taking part in the 30-Day Minimalism challenge, and I think it ties in quite well this post.

tumblr_nhos9xskYG1qznq2fo1_1280
Click to enhance!

To begin with, I’m doing terribly with the minimalism challenge. I rely on technology a whole lot, so I have issues with going tech-free for a day, or a morning or whatever- this is partially because a) my internship requires me to be online, talking to people and checking information; b) I apply for a lot of jobs, and I need to be able to watch my emails like a hawk in order to reply to them; and c) I’m a blogger. I’m always looking at numbers and analytics.

However, on the self-reflection days, I’m much better. I take time to think about my goals, or my commitments, and it really helps me narrow them down when I have to think about them in such a way. Cutting down on things within social networks is easy too- I’ve had a big clear out on Facebook and Twitter recently, and it’s been superb. I’m gonna work on my blogroll, email newsletters and Tumblr next.

As far as living a minimalist life goes, my advice would be to not be afraid to let something go. If you have a box of stuff you keep for sentiment’s sake, look over it and see what really needs keeping. i can guarantee you that you’ll end up throwing half of it out.

Living a minimalist life is tricky, as we’re constantly faced with advertisements telling us how we should look, and what we should own, but they’re hollow. Take the world the way you want to take it. Live as simply, or as complicated as you want.

What would be your advice for living a minimalist life?

For more about 100DBGCH, check out Ariel’s blog.

Thoughts?

