5 Fandom Friday · Film

Five Fandom Friday Catch Up: Five Comfort Films + Five Halloween Films!

11

For today’s catch up prompt I’m combining two; Halloween films, the prompt I missed for some reason, and comfort films. Some of the comfort films I watch are definitely horrors or have horror aspects, so I decided to combine the two. Also, as a film student, I could talk about films all day to whoever would listen to me.

1.) Scott Pilgrim vs the World– Comfort film

Scott-Pilgrim-Quad-Poster

I freaking ADORE this film! I’ve probably seen it 10+ times, and I can quote along with it like a pro. I’m a huge fan of Edgar Wright, and I think his take on a comic book film was superb. He manages to capture the more cartoonish moments of the comic while also looking film-like and fancy. I love the colours, the acting, the stars, the music… I just love everything about it. It’s such a quotable film too! I’m one day dreaming of cosplaying Ramona (or twisting it and cosplaying one of the evil exes!) I just need someone to cosplay with me…

2.) Shaun of the Dead– Horror film (but also comfort)

Shaun-of-the-dead

Don’t worry, this is the last Edgar Wright entry! My main love for this film is how it’s the bridge between Edgar Wright & Simon Pegg’s less-known stuff, and their introduction to the film world and industry. It has the silly jokes of Spaced, but the higher production values of a film. Shaun of the Dead, funnily enough was one of the first “horror” films I ever saw… and it freaked me out so much! I wasn’t expecting all the blood and gore, or the death of so many characters! Since then, I’ve watched it dozens and dozens of times and completely love it. I think Wright’s loveletter to George A Romero is absolutely superb, and takes a fun spin with the genre and genre expectations- not every zombie film ends with the zombies actually dying… Or being chained up in the garden shed to play Timesplitters.

3.) The Addams Family Values– Comfort watch

addams-family-values

One of my all time favourite films! This is one of those films that I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve watched it, just because I love it so much. I think it’s much, much better than the first film, in both story and production value. I love the dual story of Addams Family Values and the characterisation of everyone is excellent. The writing is superb and Wednesday Addams’ comedic timing and delivery is perfect, and Wednesday it totally my role model.

4.) Evil Dead 2– Horror film

evil-dead-ash1

Bruce Campbell is the king of body comedy, let’s face it. His performance in Evil Dead 2 is absolutely hysterical and the film itself is just as brilliant. While I like the first one for its creepy moments, its that scene at the start with the tree I have issues with. I don’t believe it sits well within the film, and sticks out like a sore thumb. Anyway, Evil Dead 2 also set up Army of Darkness which is also another favourite! Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell are unstoppable when it comes to horror, and Evil Dead 2 is the best example of their work. Hail to the king, baby!

5.) The Simpsons Movie– Comfort watch

The_simpsons-1-

I grew up watching The Simpsons so I was absolutely psyched when the film was announced! My Dad and I went to the cinemas and watched it especially and we loved it. I picked it up on DVD a few months later, and now it’s one of the most watched films in my collection. It plays out like an extra-long episode, and that’s why I love it. I still laugh at the jokes almost 10 years later, and I still sing along to Spider-Pig.

6.) Halloween– Horror

halloween-movie-logo-1-1

A classic. Halloween both re-invigorated a tired subgenre and a genre. It came during a huge period of social upheaval following 1960s America, and encompassed all the “innocence lost” feelings that were floating around, as well as paranoia, fear about mentally ill people, and furthered the sex = death/ virginity = purity dichotomy which reigns (ed?) supreme for many years. I studied American contemporary cinema for several months as part of my university, and as a massive horror fan, I loved it, and I love Halloween. John Carpenter is a genius.

7.) The Big Lebowski– comfort watch

film-the_big_lebowski-1998-the_dude-jeff_bridges-tops-pendleton_shawl_cardigan

The rug really tied the room together, man! My Dad showed me this film several years ago, thinking it would appeal to my sense of humour, and boy did it! It’s the most chill comedy ever that (sadly) launched a million lame memes. The story is just so bizarre and hilarious that you just find yourself smiling at it. It has some really great lines as well, and Jeff Bridges is superb as The Dude.

8.) Rec- horror

rec-2I’m not *that* easily scared when it comes to horror films. I’ve yawned my way through Saw, laughed my way through Paranormal Activity and its many sequels, and rolled my eyes at The Conjuring. Then Rec happened. It’s a Spanish film about a TV crew that get caught up in a minor “zombie” (it’s not specified as zombies, but it’s basically zombies) apocalypse in an apartment building. It has some of the most intense jump scares and atmosphere creation that I’ve seen in a while. If you’re gonna watch this and you haven’t seen it before; be prepared to jump and be paranoid of any sounds. I know I was.

9.) 10 Things I Hate About You– Comfort watch

10_things_i_hate_about_you_soundtrack_by_puschelpink-d578d83

90s high-school rom-coms, where would we be without you? I’m usually pretty anti-rom-com, but I can’t hide my love for 10 Things. It’s a great take on Shakespeare (an adaptation of The Taming of the Shrew, donchaknow) with an all star teenage (ish) cast who totally rock it. It’s partially the cast that I love about this film, but also some of the fantastic lines- “The shit hath hitteth the fan” is frequently said in my house (not that I made the Boyfriend-Wonder watch this with me one evening) as well as a load of other films. This is one of those films that I watch the most with my bestie and will quote forever, and I really need to buy it on DVD.

10.) Insidious- horror

Insidious-todays-horror-26648838-1600-1200

I understand this is a pretty polarising opinion. While the first Insidious film is (presumably) the best in the trilogy, it still has it’s… Bad moments. The final third of the film is pretty ridiuclous, and the final showdown is oddly surreal. I personally really enjoy Insidious. It’s one of the most enjoyable modern horrors I’ve seen in a while, and I always enjoy rewatching it. Director James Wan managed to create a superb atmosphere and make the safe unsafe in this film, and as far as I’m concerned, it’s one of his better films.

What are your favourite horrors? What are your comfort watches? What do you think to my list?

Thanks go to Kristen of SuperSpaceChick and Megan of The Nerdy Girlie. For more info on the prompts, check out this post on Kristen’s blog.

Thoughts?

