5 Fandom Friday

Five Fandom Friday Catch Up: Times I’ve Fangirled

11

Huzzah! I’ve almost caught up with these prompts. My most sincere thanks as always go to Kristen of SuperSpaceChick and Megan of The Nerdy Girlie. I’ve been able to rediscover my love for blogging with these super fun prompts, and I absolutely love the conversations that the posts have been creating with readers and friends. My responses for this prompt are pretty short because I haven’t really been able to fangirl or go out to anything hugely exciting.

1.) Meeting Kelly Sue DeConnick at Leeds Thought Bubble in 2013

1461061_10153519872045475_178366781_n

Yes, I met Kelly Sue DeConnick! It was at Thought Bubble 2013, when I’d spent pretty much the entire year nerding out over Captain Marvel & Pretty Deadly. Kelly Sue was kind enough to take this awesome picture with me and was super friendly, and recognised me from my blog once I told her my name. It was really tough for me to not freak out as I’d been excited for so long. Now, my signed copies of captain Marvel & Pretty Deadly are my babies. Kelly Sue was one of the nicest people I’ve met in the comics industry, and I’d love to meet her again… and freak out all over again!

2.) Seeing Katy Perry live

2014-05-23 21.30.32

I WAS SO NEAR THE STAGE! 3 rows back! I have loved Katy Perry since I was 14/15 (I turn 23 this year!) and have wanted to see her for just as long. It was an extremely lucky coincidence I was even able to see her at all. My best friend Lawrence’s friend had ordered tickets for the two of them, but she was no longer able to go, and he invited me in her place. Apart from the 45 minute wait between the opening acts and Katy, it was such an amazing night. I sang my heart out, and barely stopped jumping and dancing. I cried when she sang By the Grace of God because it was so heartwarming, and I honestly couldn’t believe I was there. There are no greater moments than being able to see one of your favourite artists perform live!

3.) Meeting Mairi Hedderwick when I was a kid

Mairi-Hedderwick

When I was a wee lassie (trust me, the Scottish accent is necessary!) my grandparents who live in Scotland would send me these wonderful picture books called the Katie Morag series by an author called Mairi Hedderwick every year for birthdays and for Christmas. As I’m part Scottish, it was nice getting gifts set in Scotland, and even more so as I was a similar age to the protagonist in the books. I remember having about six or seven in total, and I loved them. When I was at primary school, there was a trip for some of the younger children to go to another school and meet her- luckily, a family friend was able to get me on the trip too! I got the chance to meet one of my heroes at a really young age and she signed all my books for me. I can’t remember the event all that well, but I remember it being amazing.

When have you fangirled over meeting someone or going somewhere?

Check out Kristen’s blog for April and the past few months’ prompts.

Now I’m fully caught up, I might try my hand at Leslie’s DLC over at Darling Stewie!

Thoughts?

