Fashion · Geek Fashion Fix

Black Candy Alternative Fashion Subscription Review!

Screenshot 2015-05-04 16.38.24

The lovely Sarah of Black Candy Fashion sent me over a subscription box to review! I’ve bought stuff from Black Candy and I really recommend them for getting wigs in the UK, as well as cute nerdy jewellery!

The subscription box is basically what it says on the tin- you pay £150 in one go for 6 months including postage, and each month you’ll get one wig (from either the dark or pastel collection) a surprise piece of jewellery, a discount card, and 2 other little gifts, which vary box to box.

While the price may seem a lot at first, it actually makes sense. You pay for the full product run in one go, rather than a monthly ticking subscription. This method makes so much more sense, as there’s no potential problems further down the road, and you get a guaranteed monthly treat!

The products I’ve had from Black Candy have always been of great quality. The wig I wore for MCM was a Black Candy one and it looked great! The necklaces are always strong and sturdy, as well as being super nerdy! I’ve often had problems finding affordable nerdy jewellery and Black Candy really helped me out- I’ve got my Evenstar and Game of Thrones necklaces and I always get compliments on them when I wear them.

Anyway, onto the review!

The bag was sent 1st class and I got it the day after it was sent out. The postage in my city is pretty fantastic, so this is still pretty good!

2015-05-04 15.37.31

The bag was just a standard thick plastic postage bag. It kept everything safe through transit.

2015-05-04 15.37.50

The items I got! I got a Harry Potter golden snitch necklace, a Totoro coin purse, a cute phone charm, and the beautiful Mystique wig

The phone charm:

2015-05-04 15.35.57

How freaking cute is this? It’s really soft too! I plan on putting this on my bag or my keys. I’d never lose them again!

The coin purse:

2015-05-04 15.36.10

2015-05-04 15.36.32

Another super soft thing! I honestly can’t stop touching it. It has a little chain on the zip so you could attach it to a bag. It’s quite roomy inside, and has waterproof polyester lining. This would definitely be perfect to carry small cash in, or to put jewellery in while travelling. It’s super cute and instantly recognisable! This will be going in my bag to carry loose change and other little bits and pieces.

The necklace:

2015-05-04 15.36.52

2015-05-04 15.37.08

This is a really solid necklace. The golden snitch is heavy, but not too weighty. It’s also really bright and shiny! The necklace just has a standard clasp to close it with an extendable chain. The clasp is a bit stiff, but I imagine it’ll loosen the more I wear it.

The wig:

2015-05-04 15.38.08

2015-05-04 15.42.57

2015-05-04 15.42.20

I really love this wig! I had a blast taking pictures of it, and I just need to think of an awesome cosplay to use it for. Anyway, the Mystique wig is 65cm, and as you can see, it comes down quite low. The only issue I had with it is the length of the fringe, but I have that problem with a lot of wigs! If I was going to wear it, I’d either trim the fringe or tie it back somehow. It’s a high-temperature fiber, meaning you can style it with straighteners and whatnot and it won’t melt. The colour is really, really vibrant, and the pictures don’t do it justice. It came out of the bag a bit frizzy, but taming it down with a comb or brush solves that easily enough. The wig is adjustable, and can fit a variety of sizes. It sits really comfortably, and like the other Black Candy wig I got, I could happily wear it all day for an event.

Verdict

This is a subscription box that is definitely worth the price! A common problem with other subscription boxes is you never 100% what you’re going to get, and most times, end up with something you don’t like all that much. With the Black Candy one, that’s much less of a problem, because there’s only a few things to get. The discount card is a great inclusion, as Black Candy go to a lot of events in Yorkshire, so you can pick stuff up if you’re in the area. All the products are high quality and well made, and the wig is exceptionally good. While it may be a steep up front purchase, that’s all you have to pay, and it’s taken care of in one go. I think this subscription box is great quality for the money, and works as a great gift.

Check out the rest of the Black Candy store here.

They’re also currently running a raffle to raise money for new stands and table banners! You could get awesome goodies like this if you win!

Black Candy is also on Facebook & Instagram so you can get regular updates!

What do you think to the wig? Who should I cosplay with it?

6 thoughts on “Black Candy Alternative Fashion Subscription Review!

Thoughts?

