Five Fandom Friday

Five Fandom Friday: Five Nerdiest Things You’ve Ever Done

11

Okay so maybe I’m a few days late on this one but hey- I’ve been busy. I’ve been away all weekend at my cousin’s wedding and barely been online, let alone have time to write anything. I didn’t even take my notebook with me!

Thanks to TK of Tickled TK  for this prompt, which is five nerdiest things I’ve ever done! Like a lot of the other ladies who have done this, I have done a ton of nerdy stuff. Here goes:

1) Conventions

2014-01-24 16.02.43

I’ve been going to conventions since… 2012? Maybe even earlier! My first convention was Lucky Con, a real small manga/anime con in my college city. I went with my all-time bestie Gina, and it was the first time I dressed in Lolita! I absolutely adore going to cons  as I adore the community spirit at them. Even at places like Lucky Con, which gets about 150 people to it, everyone’s there because they all love the same nerdy stuff and it makes my heart sing. Related to this- cosplaying at said cons!

2.) Dressing in Lolita

1017670_10151634256803366_2050031403_n

I’ve not dressed in Lolita for SO LONG (too long! I miss the frills) but dressing in Loli is definitely a nerdy thing! Lolita is a Japanese street fashion where the focus is on being cute and demure. There are some fab communities in the UK and I’ve found the fashion to be super welcoming. I love the fashion because it’s so different to what I usually wear, and I love the style of dresses. I’d love to wear Lolita more day-to-day because it’s so damn cute! Related: I used to collect Hello Kitty memorabilia, and had over 100 items. To this day friends and family still buy me Hello Kitty stuff and I love all of it, as you may have seen in a recent instagram post!

3.) Gaming marathons

2823737-6174472236-26119

My name is Ari, and I play video games. I play them A LOT. I find myself with a lot of spare time these days (and a lot in the past) so I turn to video games. My most recent marathonner has been Diablo 3: Reaper of Souls and I’ve wasted away entire weekends sprawled on my sofa playing it. I play games a lot (when the Boyfriend-Wonder hasn’t called dibs!) and I love getting lost in new worlds. Got any recommendations? Let me know on Twitter or in the comments section!

4.) Collecting comic books

comicbook_collection

I have quite the collection of comic books! They’re currently all safely boxed away, ready to go into storage. I’ve been collecting comics since 2009 (ish!) and have around 200-300. It may not sound like much, but when you carry that many it feels like a lot! I’ve not bought new comics in a while (boo!) but I plan on restarting my Morning Glories, Sex Criminals and Bee & Puppycat collections when I get comfortable and settled in my new job.

5.) Doing a degree in film

film

I think this is my crowning glory really! I recently finished my BA (Hons) in Film Studies & Screenwriting, and while I don’t graduate until November, it’s one of the things I’ve done that I’m the proudest of. I’ve always been passionate about film and I’ve enjoyed this course so, so much.

What are the 5 nerdiest things you’ve ever done?

2 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday: Five Nerdiest Things You’ve Ever Done

  1. I went through this list pretty much thinking “Yes”, “Yes”, “Hell Yes”… Maybe not in that order, the “Hell Yes” went to conventions, I’ve been going to them in the UK since 2009.

    I’m more of a PS4 fan over Xbox One – I’m assuming by the photo your an Xbox girl?

Thoughts?

