Five Fandom Friday

Five Fandom Friday: Five Characters That Get Me

11

Fashionably late as always, here’s five characters from books, TV shows, films, video games and more that totally get me:

1.) Lisa Simpson

lisa.coffee

Lisa totally gets me! She’s smart, precocious and stands up for what she believes in. She’s a nerd, and she accepts it. Lisa was my childhood role model (and my role model as an adult!) and there were so many facets of her personality I saw and see in myself. The Simpsons has always been a huge part of my life, and Lisa always made me want more- to be smarter, to read more books, and be the best person I could be.

2.) Daria

giphy

Another childhood icon! I probably shouldn’t have watched Daria as young as I did, as it gave me the world-weary malaise and sharp wit and sarcasm that has since become a key part of my personality. I see a lot of myself in Daria in the same way as I do Lisa; they’re both smart, misunderstood and hilarious women and while they didn’t always have control on what was happening, they still worked it out. Daria’s experience of high school was basically mine- the popular girls and the jock boys causing trouble, and I just wanted to spend all my classes with my nose deep in books. Also, my bestie Gina is totally the Jane to my Daria forever and always and I love them to pieces <3

3) Taylor Swift

tumblr_ndhnz0dp6w1qay3vso1_500

She’s fearless, funny, loves cats and is an outspoken feminist. ‘Nuff said. Also, I totally love her 1989 album. She’s not a character, but she gets me. She’s the type of woman I want to be.

4.) Sailor Mars/ Rei Hino

This also reminded me to pick up Sailor Moon Crystal again...
This also reminded me to pick up Sailor Moon Crystal again…

I’m pretty new to Sailor Moon in general, but Rei always stood out to me. She was strong, assertive and firey! She wasn’t afraid to speak out if someone disagreed with her, and her bickering with Usagi in classic Sailor Moon will always be hilarious.

5.) Wednesday Addams

827ad6155ab42270cf04ae00e469e9aa

Wednesday Addams is my spirit animal, and I totally want that phrase on a t-shirt. She’s wise beyond her years, puts up with no shit and her family is magical. I share a dislike for most people with Wednesday, as well as a pretty magical family!

What five characters/people are your spirit animals? Let me know in the comments section or on Twitter!

Thanks to Melificent for this week’s prompt, and to Megan of The Nerdy Girlie and Kristen of SuperSpaceChick for Five Fandom Friday! For June’s prompts, check out Kristen’s blog.

9 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday: Five Characters That Get Me

Thoughts?

