9 Happy Things

9 Happy Things

Screenshot 2015-05-31 16.11.35

It’s that time of the week! This week has been awesome and I’ve been super busy…. But the good type of busy.

1.) Meeting Amanda Palmer!

2015-06-06 15.09.17

This was incredible! I’ll do a full write up of the event and mine & Gina’s trip to Leeds, but actually meeting Amanda Palmer has headed up my list. The gig I went to the night before the singing/meet was absolutely incredible, and I found myself crying my heart out over The Bed Song. I’ve never cried like that over a song, and it felt extremely cathartic. It’s such a sad song, and I just couldn’t stop myself. Amanda was warm, hilarious and an absolute doll to meet. She also signed my ticket and gave me a banana. A good day was had by all.

2.) Seeing family!

2015-02-28 16.39.13

I’ve been back in Gainsborough for a week (although it feels like half of that, given how much I’ve been running around between Sheffield, here and Leeds) and I spent the afternoon with my Dad and his other kids and our cats at the start of the week. Much tea was drank and I fussed my cats. My Dad and I were finally able to have a proper catch up for the first time in over a month, and it was good. I also saw my brother Jorah, who is just over a year old now. He’s super chirpy and happy, and showing him cat pictures and listening to him say “Cat!” to each one is extremely rewarding. You don’t knwo true happiness until you’ve seen something like that. Cat!

3.) Harry Potter

timeline-image-harry-potter-and-the-prisoner-of-azkaban-film-1332770375

Confession: I’ve not actually seen all the Harry Potter films. I know, it’s terrible. I’ve read all the books cover to cover many, many times, but never seen all the films. I got to Goblet of Fire and stopped, but I’ve also seen Deathly Hallows part one in class last year. Whenever I’ve been in our hometown, the Boyfriend-Wonder and I have settled down and watched one every night. We’re up to Prisoner of Azkaban tonight, which was always been my favourite of the books. The film is directed by Alfonso Cuaron, who went on to direct Gravity. Crazy! I also LOVE the Harry Potter fever that there is in the high street shops at the minute. The selection of Harry Potter themed tees, bags, jumpers and PJs in Primark makes me so happy… Although it would make me happier if there was more Hufflepuff (represent!) stuff.

4.) Fallout 4!

f649b8e57749f380cca225db5074edbb1e06d7f5

Guys. It’s finally here. Fallout 4. I am EXCITE! I’ve been a huge fan of the Fallout franchise since Fallout 3, and spent a ridiculous amount of time playing New Vegas last summer. I (and the rest of the world) have been (im) patiently waiting for news of a 4th game for a long time, and Bethesda finally delivered at E3. There’s a trailer out and it looks incredible. I’m super excited to explore a new area of irradiated America and I can’t wait for the release. I just hope there won’t be as many teething problems as there’s been with a lot of big hyped games recently!

5.) Welcome to Night Vale

download

It was just typical that tickets for the UK Welcome to Night Vale tour would go on sale when Gina and I were in transit, somewhere between Lincoln and Leeds. However, technology and muttered prayers to any deity listening meant that Gina and I were able to score tickets! WTNV is super, super popular and I’m frankly amazed we managed it! We spent our morning hunched over my phone at the back of a bus, gesturing at it and making ridiculous noises until the order went through, which must have confused the other passengers. I’m well overdue a WTNV marathon, and given that the show isn’t until September, I have plenty of time to catch up, and think of something to wear…

6.) Fentiman’s drinks

img_1093

This range of drinks is AMAZING. I’ve been a fan of it for years, back when the Victorian lemonade used to be a fixture of my house as a teenager, and I’ve managed to try most of the different drinks in the range. However, when I was coming back to my hometown after a shift at work in Sheffield, I picked up a bottle of rose lemonade from coop for lunch. It was absolutely delicious! I could honestly drink this stuff forever. The rose lemonade isn’t as sour and strong as the Victorian one, and is slightly sweeter, what with the rose essence! If Fentimans wasn’t so darn expensive I would drink it all the time. So good!

6.) My cat

2015-06-01 13.45.56

He’s a big softie and would not leave me alone when I was visiting my Dad. He must have missed me!

7.) Tea

afternoon-tea

I had this last week too, but it wouldn’t be right if I didn’t include it again. When Gina and I stayed in Leeds, we had to ask the concierge for more tea, sugar and milk to tide us over… We were only there for one night!

8.) Kingsman: The Secret Service

kingsman-secret-service-teaser-poster-banner

I watched this film last night and it is BRILLIANT! A friend of mine and the Boyfriend-Wonder’s recommended this to us and I really loved it. I’ve never been one for spy films (although I love the aesthetic of the cheesy 60s/70s ones!) but I loved the modern, comic-book-y twist that Kingsman used. It featured a bevvy of new and returning actors and it was absolutely hilarious. Based on the comic book of the same name written by Mark Millar and with art by Dave Gibbons, Kingsman is a funny, funny film with incredible action sequences and cool gadgets. Definitely a must-watch!

9.) Joy in Leeds

leeds_1

Gina and I found this place killing time on Sunday before our train came in, and it was amazing! The cutest dresses! Crazy home furnishings! It was like my dream shop. Come payday, I definitely plan on picking up these cute earrings (perfect for an Iggle!) this dress and maybe the Bunny lamp if I was feeling eccentric!

What have you been up to this week? What are your 9 happy things?

10 thoughts on “9 Happy Things

  1. I wish I could attend the Welcome to Nightvale shows, but during their last Europe tour I was in South Africa. And this time they tour when I’m moving cities and job. Maybe next time around?

    I also loved Kingsmen although I initially went there just because my boyfriend chose the movie. SO much style, it reminded me a lot of the old Bond movies!

  2. AH, Fallout 4!! I too really enjoy the Fallout series. I don’t game a ton anymore, but that is one of those titles I would set aside the time for!

  3. Love this list. I’m jealous you met Amanda Palmer, she’s so cool! I saw all the excitement about Fallout 4 on Twitter… I’ve never played any of the others, but I always get caught up with the hype of new games, so I’m excited to see it :D

    1. Thank you! I’m really enjoying this new feature, it’s a lot of fun to write. Amanda was the greatest, so friendly and nice. It’s hard not to get on board with game hype, especially when it’s all over the net!

Thoughts?

