9 Happy Things

9 Happy Things

Screenshot 2015-05-31 16.11.35

This post is a bit late this week, sorry! I’ve been here, there and everywhere and not had chance to write anything up.

1.) E3 announcements

[https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XW7Of3g2JME]/embed

Oh my god, where do I start?! Fallout 4. Doom. Kingdom Hearts 3. FF7 remake. The list is endless. All of the announcements have got me mega excited! I honestly don’t know what I’m more excited for (jokes, it’s definitely Fallout 4. My Facebook updates basically screamed this) Whichever way you look at it, the next year in gaming is gonna be a big one!

2.)  The Evil Within

This post is video game heavy! Recently, the Boyfriend-Wonder went out and picked up some new vidya games- Dragon Age Inquisition for him, and The Evil Within for me. The Evil Within is a ton of violent, gory fun. It’s the best modern survival horror I’ve played in some time, and god almighty, it scares me so much. The Boyfriend-Wonder has been keeping track of how often things make me jump, and it’s been more than I’d care to admit.

3) My Garbage Cat

Yet another video game! This one is a lot more casual and noobie friendly than The Evil Within. It’s an in-browser game where you play as a cat, whose goal is to wake up his human at 3AM. Based on the life of game dev Will Herring, who’s garbage cat wakes him up at 3AM every night, you play as his cat, knocking things off shelves and miaowing. The game is super fun and super easy, and is in 8-bit, complete with sound. Great way to kill time on your lunch break!

4) It’s Not Me, It’s You by Mhairi McFarlane

I love this book. It’s so good. It’s kinda hard to describe the story without giving anything away, but put simply; it’s about a woman called Dee finding herself. When her world turns upside down, she turns alongside it. McFarlane’s writing style is really chatty and fun, and you find yourself rooting for Dee almost straight away. I’m only 200 pages through (no spoilers, please!) but I can barely put it down! It’s described as contemporary romance, but it’s so much more than that. Yeah, there’s romance, but it’s not boring. Everything is eclectic and exciting in It’s Not You, It’s Me, and it’s a cracking good read.

5) Nerd Burger

IMG_7745

Isn’t Cazz cute?! I love her bright crazy fashion! The reason she’s on my list this week is tat I won a giveaway she was hosting with CelDeconail and won some cute jewellery. It comes at a good time too as I recently lost my good ring! I won the ring in the picture above and some cute loveheart earrings. I can’t wait for them to arrive! I love love love Cazz’s blog too, it’s a mishmash of 80s nostalgia, outrageous fashion and comics! Check it out!

6) Netflix

Duh.

7) Clumber Park

2015-06-21 12.33.45

For Father’s Day, I was invited out to Clumber Park for a big family picnic with the Boyfriend-Wonder, his sister and his sister’s boyfriend. Thankfully, the weather behaved for us and it didn’t rain! We walked halfway around the lake, admired the many, many dogs and took some pictures. It was such a lovely day out, and the picnic was superb.

8) Cinderella

Oh my goodness, this film was so magical. My local independent cinema (and old stomping ground!) was showing Cinderella at a Saturday matinée and I stopped round to see it. I loved the costumes and sets and thoroughly enjoyed the film. I used to watch the animated one a lot when I was a kid (sorry Dad!) so it was nice to relive the nostalgia.

9) Cats

2015-06-22 14.52.51

While being back, I’ve been able to visit my Dad and family a lot more, meaning I’ve been able to see my cats again! They’ve not forgotten who I was, and I’ve been treated to a parade of miaowing, purring and cat fur. It’s been nice.

What has made you happy this week?

7 thoughts on “9 Happy Things

  1. I just discovered Mhairi McFarlane’s books this year and I love them! I have “It’s Not Me, It’s You” on hold at the library, and I’m so looking forward to reading it. Have you read any of her other books?

Thoughts?

