#Blaugust

#Blaugust Day One: What I Hope to Gain

#Blaugust is here! What is Blaugust, I here you ask? Should I go see a doctor about it? Why am I so excited?

#Blaugust is a blogging challenge, put together by Bel of Aggronaut  (rules on the link!) where basically, you have to write a blog of at least 400 words every day throughout the month of August, and you might be in with a chance to win some sick gaming swag (they’re epic drops, naturally). There’s also a vlogging version of this challenge, which, if you’re into that kind of thing, could be pretty fun.

In posting this, I’m putting it out as an intention of completion! As long as I still have internet, I’ll be posting every day, about various things. I sat down and wrote out a list of post ideas, so there’s gonna be a mishmash of posts coming up. I have ideas based around video games, fashion, a combination of the two, advice, picture posts and more, as well as the usual posts you’d get from me, such as 9 Happy Things. I have a few reviews that’ll be coming your way too!

So what am I hoping to get from this? To get back into a blogging schedule for one thing. Currently, I just have one post I put up every week, and I want to include more. I constantly feel myself having zero inspiration or ideas for my blog, so I’m hoping this gives me a boot up the backside. It’s funny, since I decided I was gonna do #Blaugust, I had tons of ideas for posts and things I wanted to do for it. Funny how that works, isn’t it?

I also wanted to get the chance to link up to new bloggers from a different blogosphere. Currently. I am deeply and comfortably entrenched within the lifestyle bloggers and the cruelty free fashion/beauty bloggers, but that’s not all I’m about. As many of you know, I’m a huge video game nerd, and have been gaming since as long as I can remember. I’d love to write more about video games and my love for them, but I never found the right time… Until now! I plan on combining video games and fashion quite a lot too, to combine two of my biggest loves <3

One of the biggest difficulties between me and completing this challenge will be my potentially upcoming move! Things are moving forward, and I may be moving out soon… Ish. Obviously, in that time, I won’t have internet (unless someone else in my building has it and is generous) but hey- It’s a good excuse for falling behind.

So I hope that over the next month you guys won’t get bored of me chiming on about #Blaugust. Are any of you guys joining in?

12 thoughts on “#Blaugust Day One: What I Hope to Gain

  1. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with! There’s a lot of fashion posts from *in* video games but nothing really outside of them. Also, your posts don’t have to be JUST gaming related, which adds to the fun! :)

  2. The best thing about Blaugust is it’s a perfect excuse to try out even the half-baked ideas. I find it kind of relaxing to not worry so much about an idea, its quality, or if it stands up on its own since I can almost just stream of consciousness something out there and that be considered acceptable since it is Blaugust after all.

  3. I am so excited to see what you come up with! I’ve often felt like some kind of oddity because I try to weave video games into other blogging genres that don’t generally attract video game fans (Hello, parenting blogs!) so it’s great to hear that someone else feels the same :)

    1. Thanks Neri! Yeah, it’s a tricky one. I don’t see why we should limit ourselves to just one genre, as it seems silly. We may as well make the most of our skills & interests!

  4. Looking forward to your posts! I tend to not post on weekends, except an occasional photo dump, so I think Blaugust would be quite a challenge for me. I’ll have to give it a go one year!

Thoughts?

