9 Happy Things

#Blaugust Day Nine: 9 Happy Things

Screenshot 2015-05-31 16.11.35

This post is part of the #Blaugust blog challenge put together by Bel at Aggronaut. You can read the rules here, and you can see what the community has been posting in our Nook forum.

bLAUGUST

It’s been a poop week, but alas, I’ve still found things to make me happy.

1.) Steven Universe

After seeing this all over the internet for the last few months and promptly avoiding it, I finally gave in the other day when I was at my Grandma’s. I’m only 10 episodes in, but it is so great! I love the characters in it, the storylines and especially the music. A lot of the background music reminds me of Animal Crossing, and the theme tune is so damn catchy. We, are the crystal gems, we’ll always save the day, and even if we can’t, we’ll always find a way! 

2.) This gif

anigif_enhanced-21467-1394722042-1

Cat! What are you doing? I could watch this gif all day and still find it funny.

3.) Seeing family

Left picture: my brother Jorah, enjoying the garden in the afternoon; right picture, my Grandma with two of her great-grandchildren, Violet & Chloe
Left picture: my brother Jorah, enjoying the garden in the afternoon; right picture, my Grandma with two of her great-grandchildren, Violet & Chloe

On Saturday, my cousin took me and my Grandma out for lunch with his family, and we had a lovely time! My Grandma always loves seeing her great-grandchildren and it’s always nice to have a catch-up. We went to the Lincolnshire Otter, which is by far the best pub/restaurant in town, and had a great meal. After my Grandma and I went back home, I went round to my Dad’s to pick up my university certificates and generally have a gossip! We chatted about house stuff, health stuff and TV, and then we played with Jorah. Kid really likes fire engines, football and cats! I also recorded a video of my Dad’s cat Chet and put it on Instagram! Turn up the volume if you want to hear his silly miaow at the end.

4.) Bunty’s tearoom in Lincoln

Oh man, Bunty’s is the best tearoom in Lincoln by a long, long margin! When my friends and I met up earlier this week, we abandoned our original plans to try out the new waffle place in favour of Bunty’s and it was the best choice ever! We’re really familiar with the staff in there, the food is incredible and there’s a huge selection of it (especially cakes!) and it’s all vintage themed! If you’re ever in Lincoln, brave the climb up steep hill and stop by, you won’t regret it!

5.) Seeing Gina and going to watch Inside Out!

2015-08-06 12.33.33

It has been SO SO SO long since Gina and I hung out! Like, forever! I managed to save up a bit of cash and went over to Lincoln to see them and our friends and have a catch up. I stayed at Gina’s on Wednesday night, and we did what we always do- played video games, fussed their cat Mittens, drank tea and ate pizza. The next day, we went out to go and see the new Disney film, Inside Out, and it was really good! We both loved it <3

6.) Jurassic World

The Boyfriend Wonder and I just had a movie date and watched this with donuts, and it was great! While it does have its flaws, it is essentially big dinosaurs going roar and fighting each other. Fun times!

7.) Bunty’s (again!) amazing Victoria Sponge cake

2015-08-05 15.15.12

Look at that! The best cake I’ve ever had <3

8.) Jemma at Dorkface blog revealing the emoji Chrome plug-in secret

Ever since my phone updated and let me use emojis, I use them a lot. Everywhere. Whenever I can. I was really saddened to find out that there wasn’t a way to use them on Chrome, until Jemma told me (and other bloggers!) the big secret. Expect emojis in allllll of my tweets. Be warned!

9.) Seeing Autumn/Winter stuff in shops

Give me all the statement jumpers and I’ll be happy forever! As many of you know, I’m not overly fond of summer, and have been eagerly anticipating the first turn of the leaves… and the first turn of the A/W collections in shops. Roll on September!

What’s been making you happy this week?

12 thoughts on “#Blaugust Day Nine: 9 Happy Things

  1. Oh man. Those cakes from Buntys look amazing. I’m book marking them as a possible stop on our UK trip next year.

      1. We’re still in the very early planning stages, but we definitely wanna hit the North as we have friends in Lincoln and I’m obsessed with Manchester. I’ll keep you posted as plans develop, would be great if we could meet up.

Thoughts?

