Ariellalphabet · Geek

Confession: I’m a Fangirl

You guys, I have something to confess to you. I hid it for so long, thinking I should be ashamed, and that it was a negative thing.

But I just can’t hold it in any more. I have to Let It Go.

I need to get this off my chest.

I’m a fangirl.

A loud, passionate, thoughtful fangirl.

And you know what? That’s okay. There’s nothing wrong with loving the things you love, and loving them with all your heart.

For so long, I always thought there was something wrong with that; I bought into the stigma against fangirls, and lord knows why- I was one of them, but in disguise! Fangirl is my final form, my Sheik to my Zelda and my superhero secret identity.

Being a fangirl allows me to connect with other people over our shared love for awesome stuff, allowing me to forge new friendships (lady friendships are the best, FYI) learn new things and gives me a new lens to experience life through. Being a fangirl has brought me coping mechanics, new friends and amazing stories and that is pretty darn cool.

 

On any given day, I will be either like this:

0ac8720b49a934f99b0f6dc42d97711b

Or like this:

tumblr_meku7aPSQt1qm5kebo1_500
This was me playing Mass Effect 3 at 2AM.

And I have fangirling to thank! When times get tough, I turn to the things I fangirl over and they always help me, as well as my fellow fangirls.

Ah Sailor Moon, what better way to express my emotions? Sailor Moon is one of the things I fangirl over, and despite being new to the series, I find that it ticks all the boxes. Feminist, touching, and cute as all hell. It deals with big issues and each in a little half hour show, complete with talking cats and excessively glittery dress-up sequences.

For the longest time, I avoided the fangirl title like the plague, thinking it beneath me. I never realised that I was always a fangirl- I engaged with the same things in the same ways;  crying over X-Men comics (X-Force #26 broke my heart in tiny pieces and then BAMF’d away) angrily discussing the Superhuman Registration Act with my friends and wearing my nerd loves on my sleeve.

I was so wrong- it’s AWESOME being a fangirl!

tumblr_inline_mhks25G3rV1qiw26m
This is what it’s like being a fangirl 24/7!

So what is it that brought all this on? For my birthday, I bought myself Sam Maggs’ Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy (review) and it took me by the hand and changed my life by making me realise three fundamental truths at the exact same time:

  • I’m a fangirl
  • That’s totally rad
  • There are many other fangirls out there who are friggin’ awesome and should be celebrated!

Maggs’ book was instrumental in me realising my status, and her Fangirl Litany cemented it; I was a nerdy fan who supported other ladies and passionately loved the things I loved.Why not embrace the title with open arms?

exk9ioq5uksqeeswpyvi

Reading Sam’s book helped me realise that it was okay to be a fangirl, and despite its negative connotations, reclaim the title! Sure, us fangirls can be an emotional lot (have I cried over Mass Effect this month? Yes, and it’s been over two months since I finished it) and a loud lot, but nothing unites us more than the things we love. Fangirls have your back (even if they disagree with your OTP) they’re supportive and they kick ass.

Let’s hear it for fangirls!

In the comments, list the things you fangirl about and we can nerd out together!

 

21 thoughts on “Confession: I’m a Fangirl

  1. Fangirls! Yay! It’s great to hear to embrace your geekiness! Some of my biggest fangirling has been over: Star Wars, Mass Effect (I cried too!), Assassin’s Creed, Discworld, Batman, Harry Potter, Game of Thrones, Doctor Who, Fullmetal Alchemist, Hetalia….. I think that’s all the main ones. Whew!

  2. It’s such an cool book and being a fangirl is fabulous without it I wouldn’t have had half as many adventures or know as many awesome ladies.

  3. Welcome back to word press! :) I totally here you though, I felt ashamed for a long time based on things I like. Including gaming. Now, I’m much more open about it and I don’t really care what anyone thinks of me.

  4. Great post! I’m happy that you’re out of the fangirl closet. The stereotypes on fangirls are just outdated, really. Fandom brings us many positive things, like a good community, likeminded friends, etc.
    xoxo

      1. The one I grew up on! Backstory a looooooooonnnnng time a go I lived on the island of Crete where there was a U.S. Military base there and we received programing from the States. Although it was old by the time we got Doctor Who from PBS and as I kid I feel in love with the 4th Doctor, which was the Doctor Who episodes we were given to watch. I’d game more if my home was not a home of sickness! I’ve been sick, my son has been sick and now my husband is getting sick. I keep falling asleep after homework. I just wanna play Dragon Age. :P

      2. Oh no! I’m sorry to hear that! I guess it can still be “that time of the year” in regards to colds and illnesses and the like everywhere! I’ll play on your behalf :P

  5. Love this!!! Supernatural, Boondock Saints, Doctor Who, Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, Gilmore Girls :) Etc etc etc… the list goes on and on…

Thoughts?

